Choosing the NFL MVP for this year wasn’t that difficult after all. There has been a panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL who each chose between Green Bay’s QB Aaron Rodgers and New Orleans’ QB Drew Brees. The score was 48 against 2 choosing Rodgers. He is the first Green Bay player honored since Brett Favre concluded a run of three straight seasons as MVP in 1997.

He accepted the MVP trophy from the only four-time winner of the award, Peyton Manning. “It means a lot to be recognized as a consistent player and contributing on my team,” Rodgers said. “I think it’s an award that relies on a player having the support of his teammates, obviously, guys blocking, guys running, guys catching, guys making plays. But I’m very honored to receive the award,” he added.

Rodgers also expressed his excitement to once again witness Peyton Manning back on field next year. Manning didn’t play a down this season because of neck surgery.

Although Brees didn’t get the MVP award, he won Offensive Player of the Year for the second time. Joining them were Baltimore defensive end/linebacker Terrell Suggs for the Defensive Player of the Year, San Francisco’s rookie coach Jim Harbaugh as Coach of the Year and Detroit quarterback Matthew Stafford for Comeback Player of the Year.

Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>